Girls with Goals

I’ve always wanted to be a ballerina…

Classic ballet-dancer

Image via Wikipedia

…and this is as close as I’m going to get.

arabesque, demi-pointes, plie

Just like probably 95% of the population, one of my goals has been to tone up. Without getting all TMI on you lovely readers, two years ago I was tiny. Small enough that people would sneer at me and say with disdain, “You’re so skinny.” I couldn’t help it! I could eat 18 inches of a cheesesteak sandwich and not gain an ounce! One year ago I had filled out nicely. I actually liked my body’s proportions. Even six months ago I wasn’t embarrassed to wear a swim suit. One month ago I almost started crying in a Kohl’s dressing room.

I don’t know what happened between now and then (I do have a theory, but it’s not a topic for good company). My diet hasn’t changed–if anything it has improved. My level of exercise hasn’t changed much–I hardly exercised before because I never needed to. However, sitting here contemplating Why I Jiggle has surprisingly produced little–if any–results.

These past few months I’ve tried a few different work-out routines, some more whole-heartedly than others. I worked out at a gym twice. I got bored and knew I wouldn’t be able to commit to such a chore. I’ve tried various Jillian Michaels DVDs, and even made a daily routine of them. While I liked the idea of sweating and panting in private, I also got lonely. And bored again.

Along came Groupon.com. The day after I signed up, a coupon for one month’s unlimited classes at a ballet fusion fitness studio chimed in my inbox. I took five years of tap, jazz and hip hop dance classes through junior high and high school, as well as both salsa dancing and yoga/Pilates in college. But I had never taken ballet because I started dancing so late that I would have been in a beginning class with all four-year-olds. Would’ve made for some darling recital photos!

Anyway, today I tried out a Stretch and Tone class (leg, arm, and ab work from a ballet barre), as well as a Ballerobica class–the fusion of ballet strength and stretch techniques and an aerobics work-out.

This is a program I can see myself sticking with. Adult, beginner, social, supportive, rigorous, effective. And I’ve only had two hours!

Now, readers, here is where you come in. Although I say I can commit, I want you all to make sure I do! Yell, berate, scold, and give me the evil eye. I want to lose 10 pounds by my birthday, January 14. Help me out!

What work-outs have worked best for you? How did you get yourself to actually do them?

I love you all,

Freckles

2 responses

  1. Check out your thyroid. Go read up at about.com there is a great site there about thyroid issues that will give you the information you need to get the RIGHT tests run and what the results should be in the range of.

    December 30, 2010 at 5:11 pm

    • Thanks, Carla! I actually have thought of getting that checked, guess now I’ll have to make a goal to actually DO it and stop thinking about it!

      Thanks for reading!

      December 30, 2010 at 11:12 pm

Leave a Reply

