Girls with Goals

Fortune Cookie Goals

I’m not a writer. I’m certainly not a blogger. And I’m definitely not one to share my every life moment, especially with the entirety of cyberspace! I can’t deny that I love being a part of The Life Anonymous Girls, though, and it would be rude to make Freckles maintain this blog’s awesomeness all on her own. So, here I am! Trying to add a tiny bit of awesomeness, and probably a whole lot of babbling.

There isn’t a more perfect time than New Year’s Eve to set goals. So what do I want to accomplish in 2011?

First and foremost, I want to figure out if the norm will be to say “twenty-eleven” or “two-thousand-eleven”. For the past year I’ve said “two-thousand-ten”, but I feel like part of a minority. We all need to come to a consensus here.

The rest of my goals, like most people’s, can be outlined using fortune cookie messages. I save ALL of my fortunes, mostly because they all seem to suit my life perfectly! Yes, I know they are made to suite everyone’s lives perfectly, but whatever. At least I don’t read a daily horoscope.

Here are my top three fortunes from this year:

1. “Your many hidden talents will become obvious to those around you.”
Great! If any of you are aware of any hidden talents I have, please let me know. I’m at a point in my life, like most any other girl my age, where I have absolutely no idea what I’m doing. I’m just floating through life hoping my true calling will magically present itself to me. I’m not delusional; I know this wont come easily. But in two-thousand-eleven, I want to poke and prod myself (metaphorically!) and really try to figure out what my talents are and how to apply them to a career, hobby, charity, etc… How does one release secret, hidden talents?

2. “You will make a change for the better before the end of the year.”
Not gonna lie, I was banking on this one before the end of 2010. In my head, this fortune applied to getting a new job. Now, I don’t HATE my job, but I certainly don’t love it. It’s been great for the past (almost) two years. I’ve learned a lot and had a ton of fun. But, I’ve outgrown my training wheels and need to take them off before I get stuck riding with them forever. If I don’t have a new job by this time next year, it better be because I won the Millionaire Raffle, invested my winnings wisely and am retired.

3. “You will always be surrounded by true friends.”
This is always a toughie. My whole life, I’ve made an effort to only surround myself with genuine people who make a positive difference in my life. I really don’t even bother with people who don’t live up to a pretty high standard I’ve created over the years. For the most part, this has worked for me. After all, quality is more important than quantity! I love my friends and there isn’t a single one I would ever want to lose or replace. Throughout the coming year, I will make a solid effort to nurture these friendships to keep them going strong. And just maybe, hopefully, I’ll meet someone new who fits my stringent friendship requirements!

Happy New Year, everyone! Here’s to a great 2011 (twenty-eleven,
or two-thousand-eleven… gahh!)!

Ciao,
Florence

2 responses

  1. I’m hoping for “two thousand eleven.” If we do it the other way, I’m going to feel really dorky when we get to 2020 and call it “Twenty twenty.”

    December 31, 2010 at 8:47 pm

  2. I agree! And I’m happy to say that today, most people have said “two thousand eleven” – yay! Maybe we are starting a revolution here…

    January 1, 2011 at 3:48 pm

Leave a Reply

