Girls with Goals

“Career Move Mondays” – Pigeon-holed

Welcome to the new series we’re starting called “Career Move Mondays.” We are each at the point in our careers where we’re looking to get in on the ground floor, looking to get into a new industry, or just make strides in what we’re doing. So this series will be a forum for our adventures and musings in the world of work–something we can all relate to. So here we go…

I’ve barely started my career (or is this just a job?) and already I can easily see myself becoming pigeon-holed into one industry, unable to try something new in the future because everything requires experience.

Unfortunately, aside from blogging about whatever I want, I can’t think of a paying gig (and this doesn’t even pay) that I can create and mold to encompass all my passions.

I love writing. I love teaching. I love decorating cakes. I love psychology. I love people. I love books. I love interior design. I love organization. I love cheese.

And I’m expected to just pick one???

I can’t viably have a new career every month. So how can I prepare myself to be a competitive candidate wherever I choose to go?

I’m thinking of using my entries in the “Career Move Mondays” series to explore various fields that I’m interested in, with the hopes that we all get something from it? What do you think?

Tell me, friends, how were you able to transition to a new field? Did you have to start from scratch–get a new degree, start at the bottom rung in the industry? How were you able to use your experience as a plus when breaking into a new world?

In other news, you’ll be seeing some re-design going on with the site, so don’t let any changes scare you off! We’re just trying to make this as functional and beautiful as possible! We are also implementing regular posting schedule, as well as some creative ideas for our posts. So make sure you stop by more often!

Freckles

Leave a Reply

