Girls with Goals

Never Have I Ever

Film poster for The Bucket List - Copyright 20...

Have you seen this movie? I haven't

Never have I ever…smoked a cigarette.

In the first post I alluded my favorite drinking game, “Never have I ever.” It’s a game where each person holds up anywhere between three and ten fingers (depending on where you get the rules–everyone playing holds up the same number of fingers), then they take turns saying “Never have I ever…” followed by something they have never done but something others likely have done. Whoever has done that deed puts one finger down, and takes a drink. Once a person has all fingers down, they are out of the game (and usually quite inebriated).

This is what I’m calling my “Life List” or “Bucket List”: my list of things I want to accomplish before I die. As part of the Life Anonymous Girls (LA Girls, from now on), one of my goals is to attempt far more items on my Never Have I Ever List.

I have enough spaces for 100 items, but I haven’t thought of that many yet. Here’s what I have so far:

1. go dog sledding (I truly believe that these dogs love what they do)

2. see the Northern Lights

3. see a volcano erupt (CHECK! I saw Mount Stromboli erupt off the coast of Italy this past summer as our cruise ship passed by it at midnight)

4. swim with dolphins

5. attend a live taping of The Daily Show

6. attend a live taping of The Ellen Show

7. snorkel in the Great Barrier Reef

8. learn to SCUBA dive

9. go parasailing

10. swim in an Iceland hot spring

11. stay in an ice hotel

12. donate a large sum of money to the ASPCA

13. get a dachshund

14. learn another language (become more fluent in Spanish, which I haven’t used in five years, or start learning a new language)

15. live in another country for a while

16. get high (nope, never have I ever)

17. go to a ball

18. go to the Arctic Circle (I’m thinking Svalbard, a territory of Norway)

19. see a NON-Christmas play every year

20. get a pet fish (I had some when I was a little girl, but I think I might appreciate them more now)

21. have a fully stocked bar in my house (so all my friends can have their favorite drink when they come over)

22. enter a short story contest

23. take stained glass classes

24. perfect my homemade pizza (I’m hoping to turn this quest into a short series on this blog)

25. learn to paint “faux” brick (So that I can make a wall look like it’s made of brick–I’ve always loved “exposed” architecture)

26. design pegboard hooks specifically for women’s closets (I promise I’ll do a post on my magnificent closet–and how you can spruce up your closet on the cheap, too!)

27. develop an original recipe

28. go on a hot air balloon ride

29. get my dad to wear a seat belt because he wants to, not because we nag him

30. paint a bulb of garlic on a wall

31. live in Kennebunkport, ME for a short while (just to see what small-town living is all about)

32. buy a Barcelona chair

33. build a dog house

34. go to the Rocky Horror Picture Show (and participate–even if I have to be a part of the “virgin sacrifice”!)

35. keep a book club going for 12 months straight

36. successfully complete 52 books in 52 weeks

That’s all I have so far, but I add to it all the time. I will post each time I complete an item on my list (as well as posts about other times, of course). If anyone knows anyone who knows anyone who can help me easily (and inexpensively) complete an item on my Never Have I Ever List, please let me know!

So what things are on your Life List, Bucket List, Never Have I Ever List, 30 Before 30 List, etc.? I could always use more ideas, or maybe I could even help you out completing yours!

I love you all,

Freckles

P.S. No, I never have smoked a cigarette, and I never intend to do so.

2 responses

  1. Love your site and this post in particular. I found you via the Pioneer Woman’s site, and it is such a coincidence or serendipity or SOMEthing….because today while I was driving home from a really long and not-as-great-as-planned vacation with my little family, I was making a mental list of goals like this. I was telling my husband about a lesson I used to teach (I’m a school counselor) about goal setting, and how goals need to be positive, measurable, time limited, specific, and meaningful, and how I need to put this lesson into practice in my own life.
    Anyway, I’ll be bookmarking you. 🙂

    December 30, 2010 at 9:57 pm

    • Thanks, Lynn! I love reading The Pioneer Woman too. I suppose it would be creepy if one of my goals was to BE her haha. For now I’ll just try to be LIKE her 😉

      Thanks for reading!

      December 30, 2010 at 11:11 pm

Leave a comment